RBE/PPP proudly sponsor Steven Jeffress, who took out Dysart Pro Am

Posted on: Monday, May 27th, 2013

Jeffress celebrates Dysart win

Sunday, 26 May 2013

Gold Coast based professional Steven Jeffress has added his name to a long list of illustrious champions today taking out the 35th Anniversary Dysart Pro Am.

Jeffress would never relinquish his lead after his opening round of six under par 66. A second round 70 and a closing 65 for a three round total of 15 under par, would be good enough for a one shot victory over Adam Blyth, who also finished with a seven under par 65 in today’s final round.

Aaron Pike who was looking to become the first professional to win three consecutive Dysart Pro Ams came up just short finishing in outright third on 11 under, while Matthew Ballard finished a further three shots behind in fourth.

Blyth thought he had done enough to walk away with his first win on the Sunshine Tour when he completed his round today, though to his surprise it would be Jeffress who would match his final round to walk away with the one shot victory.

“It is great to add my name to an honour role that reads Wayne Grady, Peter Senior and John Senden, players that I have been lucky enough to play alongside for a number of years,” Jeffress said.

“The Dysart Pro Am is always one of my favourites to play, and with the course this year being in exceptional condition I knew it was going to be tough to pull off a win. It is a wonderful feeling to win here, especially when this year’s Pro Am celebrates its 35th anniversary,” Jeffress said.

This year marks the 35th anniversary of the Dysart Pro Am, the longest running Pro Am played on the Queensland Sunshine Tour. Previous champions have included John Senden and Peter Senior, though the Pro Am was certainly boosted this year with the addition of the 1982 Dysart Pro Am champion Wayne Grady. “It was great to have a number of past champions return this year for our 35th anniversary, but I would really like to thank Wayne for returning and celebrating this great milestone with us,” Dysart Golf Club President Michael Porter said.

“The Pro Am has always been a highly regarded event, not only for Dysart community but also for the professionals that have taken part. It has played host to many of Australia’s great professionals and while this year may well mark the 35th anniversary, I am sure there will be many more great Pro Ams run and won on the way to celebrating our 50th,” Porter added.

Professionals will now take a couple of days off ahead of the Moranbah Pro Am which starts on Wednesday. Pieter Zwart continues to lead the Order of Merit race though will need to keep his run of form going if he is to hang onto his lead heading into the second half of the season.


REF: http://www.pga.org.au

Post a new Comment

All comments are moderated for off-topic, explicit and offensive content.

Contact Us

Get in touch with us and see what we can do for you. Email or call us via the below:

Click here to email us Call us: +61 7 5562 4200